There Sure Are a Lot of People Writing Stuff


Being new to writing, blogging and whatnot, I decided to get the lay of the land, as some folks say.  So I poked around and Jesus, Peter, frickin’ Joseph, Mary and Paul, there are a lot of people writing stuff about stuff.

What the hell.

Intellectually, I knew.  But the mind is its own place, and mine is cluttered with carnival mirrors.

I concede that it is good that so many are writing because a lot of insightful, informative, inspiring and entertaining stuff is being written and, most importantly, read.

And this is good on both a micro and macro level: the whole personal expression, educating the masses, social connection and awareness, world peace, kumbaya thing.

But there are, to use the vernacular, epicly incomprehensible numbers of people engaged in this activity. Granted, these numbers are to be expected in a world of billions. And among the millions, a multitude of really smart, important people are doing it. Exploring this world of writing is like wandering around in the scrub and happening upon a forest of giant sequoias (and these goliaths write so artistically, landing their triple toe looped lutz perfectly and effortlessly).

But do so many of us who feel compelled to engage in this activity, should we really? I mean, why the hell am I writing when tens of thousands precede me? Certainly the likelihood of writing something fresh, revelatory and resonating is minuscule. This post, like the carcass of a dead whale, simply adds to the detritus on the blogosphere floor.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “There Sure Are a Lot of People Writing Stuff

  1. I write because I’ve always got so much going on in my mind. It’s cathartic for me, especially on Fridays, the day I’ve chosen to be my “rant” day!!

    • How I envy you and wish that writing were a cathartic experience for me as well. It is not. And I am still befuddled as to why I started this endeavor.

      In any case, I am inspired, mrshate, by your strategy of designating a day for a specific category or topic. Thank you…

  2. If only all the ”detritus” in the blogosphere was written this beautifully!

    When I started bloging over at The Geek Anthropologist, I surveyed the Internet for other anthropology blogs and blogs about geek culture. And as you did, I felt that there were a lot of blogs, maybe even too many. After all, so many blogs are actual dead carcasses, having been abandonned by their owner for years. Others simply share news and information that can be found anywhere else. Blogs with original content that is both compelling and well-written are a gem to find, in my opinion, but luckily there are actually many of them out there.

    Regardless, everyone blogs for their own reasons, and its great that we have the freedom to do so. It is worth protecting. Blogging is also great way to connect with people, and I am convinced that if not for the social aspect of it, there would be much less people partaking in it. That’s actually why I am turning The Geek Anthropologist into a community blog. It’s so much more fun, challenging, encouraging and productive to work as a team. And my colleagues and I want to keep connecting with other anthropologists who share our interests.

    In any case, you obviously have your own very unique voice and you write very well, so please do not worry about the millions of people out there who are also blogging. Do it for you!

    • Thanks for the kind words, encouragement and ping-back, MPR.

      I’m still mulling over your comment and recent post, especially the community-building power of blogs (as well as other social media technologies).

      Blogs have a beauty and allure very much like entrepreneurship & startups: the endless opportunity to create & build. Granted there’s opportunities to monetize, but what is invaluable is the creation of community.

      I have a project waiting in the wings and it may be why I started blogging. Assuming I able to acquire the skills to develop a sense of community in this realm (I’ll be following your new blog with great interest), I may be “doing it for me” initially, but I think it really is about the “them.”

    • Pleasure is all mine!

      Yes, in the end the community aspect of blogging is what makes it all work: you can’t monetize efficiently without readers, you can’t get good feedback without readers, you can only improve your blog so much on your own, and more to the point, if blogging was about writing to one’s self, people would still write in diaries or keep their blogs private.

      Building a community around a blog demands at least as much time as writing the actual blog does in my experience. I’ll be writing about how it is still challenging for me to create dialogue around what I write next week. I hope we can keep this conversation going!

      I look forward to reading about your project, what mystery!

  3. Pingback: The Blogosphere: building communities | THAT SORT OF THINGS

Leave a Reply

